Iowa Hawkeyes men’s basketball

The Iowa Hawkeyes men’s basketball team represents the University of Iowa in Iowa City, Iowa, as a member of the Big Ten Conference and the National Collegiate Athletic Association.

Coach Fran McCaffery was at Iowa, and is the present head coach.
The Hawkeyes won eight Big Ten regular-season conference championships have played 26 NCAA Tournaments, eight NIT Tournaments and won the Big Ten tournament. Iowa has played at the Final Four on three events, reaching the semifinals at 1955 and 1980 and playing in the championship match against the University of San Francisco in 1956.
Iowa basketball was broadly effective in the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s using a program resurgence under Lute Olson and the tenures of both George Raveling and Tom Davis. Under Olson, the Hawkeyes won their last regular season championship and went into the 1980 Final Four.
They currently play in 15,400-seat Carver-Hawkeye Arena, together with Iowa women’s basketball, wrestling, and volleyball clubs.
Prior to playing in Carver-Hawkeye Arena, which started in 1983,[6] that the Hawkeyes played at the Iowa Armory and the Iowa Field House, which is still utilized today by the institution’s gymnastics teams. The Hawkeyes gathered a school-record 21 consecutive wins at home before dropping to rival Northern Iowa.
Four Iowa coaches have been inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame: Sam Barry, Ralph Miller, Lute Olson and George Raveling.

Read more:


There is no comment on this post. Be the first one.

Leave a comment