List of American League pennant winners

Each year, one American League (AL) team wins the pennant, signifying that they are the league’s champion and possess the right to perform in the World Series against the champion of the National League. The pennant was introduced to the team with the best win–loss album every year through the 1968 season, and the American League Championship Series (ALCS) was released to decide the pennant winner. The first modern World Series was played in 1903 and, after a hiatus in 1904, has taken place annually except 1994, when a players’ strike forced the cancellation of this postseason. The American League pennant holders would be the Boston Red Sox who won in October 2018.
Back in 1969, the team split into two divisions, and the teams with the best records in each division played one another from the five-game ALCS to find out the pennant winner, who received (and continues to receive) that the William Harridge Trophy. The trophy featured a gold eagle, the league’s logo, sitting atop a silver baseball and clutching the American League bannerads. [6] the decoration is all silver with a pennant on top. The prize is named Will Harridge, who had been league president from 1931 to 1958. The structure of the ALCS was changed from a best-of-five into a best-of-seven format at the 1985 postseason. In 1995, an extra playoff series was inserted when Major League Baseball restructured into three divisions in each league. As of 2010, the winners of the Eastern, Central, and Western Divisions, as well as the AL Wild Card winner, play at the American League Division Series, a best-of-five playoff to determine the opponents who will play in the ALCS. American League pennant winners have gone on to win the World Series 66 times, most recently in 2018.
The New York Yankees have won 40 AL pennants, winning their first in 1921 and also their latest in 2009. This total is over double that of their next-closest group, the Oakland Athletics, who have won 15. They’re followed by the Boston Red Sox and the Detroit Tigers, with 14 and 11 pennants won respectively. The Yankees have the maximum pennants because the introduction of the ALCS in 1969 with 11, followed by the Athletics and the Baltimore Orioles with 5 and 6 respectively. The Yankees also hold the record for most wins with a pennant-winning team, with their 1998 team winning 114 from 162 games, finishing 22 games ahead of the Boston Red Sox. The 1954 Cleveland Indians won the most matches of any pennant winner beneath the pre-1969 system, winning 111 out of their 154 matches and finishing eight games ahead of the Yankees. The Milwaukee Brewers won the American League pennant in 1982 but afterwards moved into the National League starting from the 1998 season.
The only American League team to have won a pennant is that the Seattle Mariners

Read more:


There is no comment on this post. Be the first one.

Leave a comment