Rory McIlroy pips Brooks Koepka to PGA Tour Player of the Year award

Champion Rory McIlroy Was Called the PGA Tour Player of the Year for a third time.

The 30-year-old conquer world # 1 Brooks Koepka into the name after registering three successes after wins at the Players Championship and RBC Canadian Open by claiming the season-ending Tour Championship.
PGA Tour associates enrolled 14 top-10s during the 2018-19 season from his 19 begins and voted mcIlroy, having previously won the accolade in 2012 and 2014.
PGA Tour commissioner Jay Monahan stated:”While there are numerous honours you can get in this game, PGA Tour Player of the Year needs to be among the most satisfying as it comes straight from his peers.
“Rory’s season was a model of immersion by milestone victories and ultimately the FedExCup in Atlanta.”
Before settling for second behind Dustin Johnson at the WGC-Mexico Championship mcIlroy published a ending in his Sentry Tournament of Champions introduction and at Genesis Open and the Farmers Insurance Open.
The Northern Irishman maintained a share of fourth from his title defence but returned to the winner’s team holding on for a win in The Players.
McIlroy suffered a last-16 exit to Tiger Woods at the WGC-Dell Match Play and failed in his latest pursuit to complete the career Grand Slam, completing tied-21st at the Experts, before following back-to-back top-10s in Quail Hollow and Bethpage Black using his first missed cut of this year at The Memorial.
The former world # 1 rebounds back to cruise to success in Canada, where he broke the championship record using a final-round 61 in his path into a seven-shot win, together with McIlroy then finishing tied-ninth at the united states Open to finish a streak of three straight missed cuts at the event.
McIlroy suffered disappointment with an departure at The Open, before finishing tied-fourth at the WGC-FedEx St Jude Invitational following a 71 together winner Koepka quadruple-bogeying the opening hole at Royal Portrush.
In which McIlroy enrolled a four-shot triumph to maintain the FedExCup for a time and its own $15million jackpot the champion finished tied-19th and tied-fourth within the opening two FedExCup play-off occasions to head to East Lake fifth in the standings.
Matt Kuchar koepka and Xander Schauffele would be the other players although Sungjae Im was voted the 2019 PGA Tour Rookie of the Year shortlisted for the award.

Read more: golf tournament this weekend and odds


There is no comment on this post. Be the first one.

Leave a comment